iTestify!!! – 4

UNDESERVED FAVOUR!

I sat in that waiting room, apprehensive. I had arrived a little early for an interview in this Company I totally had no idea of. I received a call 3 days earlier inviting me for this interview and the lady who called asked me to research all I could about the Company before coming. In that waiting room, I saw about 9 other people to be interviewed for the same position. And they all knew someone within the premises, because I saw some of the staff come out and exchange pleasantries with them. I sighed. How on earth am I going to still my frayed nerves? I was so jittery I went to the toilet, twice!

My turn eventually came. I was number 4 or 5 now, I can’t remember. I went in and faced a panel of foreigners and only 2 Nigerians. That made my tummy churn in knots but I was determined not to show it. I smiled a big smile and got down to work…Was the interview easy? I don’t know but I know I answered the questions to the best of my ability.


I had just gotten home after an hour and half of traffic. I was tired and hungry and was just about to open my front door when my phone rang. It was the same lady who called me to invite me for the interview. “They want you to come back immediately”, she said. “They will wait for you no matter how long it takes you to get back”.

I was surprised and even more apprehensive. Several things passed through my mind and I wondered what I was going to meet but I decided to pray all the way back to the Organisation. I got there almost 2 hours later and I was fagged out! As soon as I got there, the receptionist asked me to go upstairs immediately. “They’ve been waiting for you”, she said. I got to the door, knocked and as I stepped in, there was clapping and cheering! The interview panel stood up on their feet and started congratulating me – first for making it back, and then for getting the job! Apparently foreign delegates loved me so much that they wanted me to come back so they could offer me the job in person! One of them was travelling back that night and she said “I’m so glad I met you and I look forward to seeing you next month at our Head Office for training”.

I also learnt that out of all the candidates who showed up, I was the only one without a Masters degree or a University degree! But they wanted me so much that they refused to interview any of the other candidates after me so they won’t be forced to change their minds! They only agreed to interview everyone much later when they learnt it would take me almost 2 hours to get back to them and they didn’t want to stay idle.

TALK ABOUT DIVINE FAVOUR!

I was shocked, overwhelmed, flabbergasted, in awe….all the adverbs you could think of. When I came to my senses and managed to get my tongue working, they sent me into mute mode again as they reeled out their offer and the total package. And just like that, from being jobless and hopeless for almost one year, I became a Regional Manager at Mid Management level in an International Organisation! And it had nothing to do with my qualifications!

My tears of joy knew no bounds. I can’t begin to tell you how much I had suffered, how I had searched for jobs and none seemed forthcoming. I literally spent my days crying, praying and hoping. And yet it seemed nothing was happening. I was low on money and had even borrowed the money I used to transport myself to the interview that morning but I kept hoping and God surpassed my expectations!

I have since settled into my job and have several promotions even after that but every time I think about what God did and how I started, I stand in awe of how great God is!

I have since learnt that God is no respecter of persons. If He dis it for me, He can do it for ANYONE. Indeed, He is the only one who can turn any life around. To Him be all the glory!

lady-boss

Testimony as shared by O.D.O

Psalm 126:1-6

When the Lord turned again the captivity of Zion, we were like them that dream.
Then was our mouth filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing: then said they among the heathen, The Lord hath done great things for them.
The Lord hath done great things for us; and we are glad.
Turn again our captivity, O Lord, as the streams in the south.
They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.
He that goes out and weeps, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him.

iTestify – Real life, real issues, real testimonies, REAL GOD!

Get ready for a deluge of hope, stirring up faith in God!

©Debywrites 2016

 

10 thoughts on “iTestify!!! – 4

Leave a Reply

