Are your senses awake?

I went to the salon with my daughter. While we were being attended to, my daughter wanted some water to drink. I asked one of the salon attendants to help us get a bottle of water from the shops. When she brought it, it didn’t look like a ‘fresh’ bottle of water. The bottle was slightly bent out of shape and the label was rough. I cracked a joke about it looking like it was filled with water from a well down the road and we all laughed. Anyway, rather than ask the girl who purchased the water to return it and get me another one, I felt it was too much of a stress seeing that the bottle was sealed. I opened it, took a sip from it (just to check if it was okay) and passed it on to my daughter.

Now my daughter has an awesome sense of smell. What ordinary people would not perceive, she would smell from afar. As she lifted the bottle to her lips, she froze and said “Mummy, this water smells!” (so much for me tasting it, right?) I hadn’t perceived any smell, but what happened was I had ignored all the physical signs I’d seen…

How many times do you ignore warning signs you see about someone and afterwards get burned? How many times have you ignored that tug in your spirit about that business venture simply because it looked ‘okay’? How many times have you thought to yourself “this doesn’t look right, but maybe I’m overanalysing things”.  That’s why we have the Spirit of God! Our spirit is supposed to be connected to that ultimate Spirit who tells us what, how, where, when and with whom to do. Without the Spirit’s direction, we are lost! Looks are deceptive, they say but there is also a saying that you don’t judge a book by its cover! How do you know when to apply which saying if your spirit isn’t sensitive?

I made a wrong judgement by thinking since the bottle was sealed, the water was good. I was wrong. Thank God for my daughter’s sense of smell. Which reminds me…what fragrance are you emanating? How do you smell to others? And how is your sense of smell?

2nd Corinthians 2: 15 (NLT) – Our lives are a Christ-like fragrance rising up to God. But this fragrance is perceived differently by those who are being saved and by those who are perishing.

Romans 8:16 – The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.

Galatians 5:16 – So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves.

My thoughts?

Open your eyes to see
Open your ears to hear
Open your mind and conceive
But above all,
Open your spirit to perceive

nose

God’s blessings!
©Debywrites 2017

Leave a Reply

