You will be fine!

My daughter’s fish died.

It was a painful morning. We were preparing for school and she went to the kitchen to drop her plate after breakfast when I heard a piercing scream. Fearing the worst, I jumped up and was heading to the kitchen when she collided into me. With tears streaming down her face and sobbing uncontrollably, she managed to stutter the words “My fish is dead!”

Oh God, I watched my 8 year old experience pain and grief for the first time in her life and my heart broke. I tried to console her but she was totally inconsolable. I couldn’t promise to buy her a new fish because I didn’t even know where to get it from (she won this fish from her school’s excursion to a fish farm). So I made promises of all sorts – I’ll buy you something nice, I’ll take you to the mall. I’ll get you ice-cream……bla bla bla. I hugged her, I wiped her tears, I did all I could but she kept wailing and wailing. After sometime, I asked if she would prefer to stay at home and miss school, just to relief her grief. She chose to go. Then I told her “Darling, you’ll be fine. I promise”.

But she still cried. All the way to school, even after I dropped her off, she continued crying till after morning assembly (she told me this when she got back home after school).

When I left her, I said a prayer for her in my heart and asked the Holy Spirit to comfort her (What more could I have done?)

She came back home all smiles in the afternoon and said she actually felt better after assembly. Then she said “Mummy you were right. You kept your promise. You said I’ll be fine and I’m fine now”….and she hopped away.

It brought tears to my eyes and reminded me so much of this scripture:

Psalm 34:19

Many are the afflictions of the righteous: but the LORD delivereth him out of them all (KJV)

The righteous person faces many troubles, but the LORD comes to the rescue each time (NIV)

The righteous person has many troubles, but the LORD rescues him from all of them (GWT)

There would be trouble, and there would be afflictions as long as we live on earth. But if we are righteous (God’s righteousness in Christ Jesus), God promises to deliver and rescue His own from ALL OF THEM, ALL THE TIME.

It doesn’t really matter what it is, and how inconsolable you may seem at the moment. It may look like all hope is lost and you can’t make it this time. Your fish could have meant all the world to you, and now it’s gone. God always keeps His word. And His words are Yes and Amen. If He says He will come through, then He will come through.

I kept my promise to my daughter, though not of my own power. But I did say a word of prayer and God heard.

God ALWAYS keeps His promise. The ones contained in His Word. The scriptures He has given even before you were born.

His promise of healing, restoration, hope, promotion, relief, deliverance, breakthrough, salvation….the list goes on.

Trust Him. You will be fine.

Job 5:9 – He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted (NIV)

 

First written for Thypreciousjewels ’16

God’s blessings!
©Debywrites 2017

 

 

Leave a Reply

