God is God, God is good.

Paw Patrol (a cartoon) came up on TV and I heard an excited voice:

“Mommy, you have to watch this episode!”

When I hear such ‘instruction’ sometimes, I listen because it means I’m about to be schooled…lol. I wasn’t wrong.

This particular episode had been repeated over and over (as they tend to do on DSTV *eyes rolling*) and being that he had seen that episode before, my son asked me to pay attention to it and proceeded to tell me the story as it unfolded. A big purple egg was found astray somewhere and was rescued by Paw patrol. They got to realise it was a dinosaur’s egg. As I watched, my son said “Mommy watch closely. The egg will hatch and the baby dinosaur will come out crying for his mummy”. Then after a while he said, “It’s a good thing I have a Mommy so I don’t ever have to cry”

And I just ‘teared’ up in his place. Tears dropped down my cheeks because I felt so loved and trusted. He never has to cry? Of course he cries. But I think he was talking about a different kind of cry. The cry you have when you feel all alone and abandoned, like no one cares. the cry you have when you’re burdened and have no one to help, the cry of confusion, pain and hurt…

But to him, those cries don’t exist because Mommy is there as his shield! And Mommy can never do him evil. Isn’t it surprising that some of us think we know God yet have the wrong perspective of Him? Some people think that when something bad happens to them, then it must be God doing or permitting it simply because of a sin somewhere or something of the sort. Get this straight – God is good!!! And He only does good!!! The concept of a heavenly Father who sits back and watches bad things happen to you must be eradicated from your thinking! That is not who God is!

1st John 1:5 – This is the message we have heard from him and declare to you: God is light; in him there is no darkness at all.

Does my son cry? Oh yes he does. When he falls, or wants something or feels I’m not being fair or fights with his sister….etc, he will cry. But he never wavers in his trust for me through all that. He always believes Mommy is good and if anything bad were to happen, it would never be Mommy instigating it! That’s why the Psalmist said in that famous psalm:

Psalm 23:4 – Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

If He’s there with you in your darkest moments and pulls you through, does it make sense that He instigated it?? Of course not! The problem is we think about God in our human knowledge and judge Him the way we would a friend or family member…. Stop doing that!

Remember “The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end” – Lamentations 3:22(ESV) –

Remember this song by Don Moen?

God is good all the time
He put a song of praise in this heart of mine
God is good all the time
Through the darkest night His light will shine
God is good
God is good all the time

God’s blessings!
©Debywrites 2017

Leave a Reply

